Recieved the following in my university email:
FROM: John Doe [john.doe@xxx.edu.au] (named changed to protect the fellow who probably has no idea his email's been hijacked)
Your mailbox quota has been exceeded the storage limit which is 20GB, You cannot send or receive mail when your mailbox reaches 20.9GB. You are currently running on 20.8GB You may not be able to send or receive new mail until you reduce your mailbox size.
To make more space available, Do click the link below;
http[NULL]://www.eformit.com/eform.aspx?and878712 (null added to render link unclickable. I don't advise removing the [NULL] and clicking out of curiosity...)
Failure to do so may result in the cancellation of your account. You must click the link above or the space will not be freed.
Click the link above for Help and more information.
Localhost
Looks legit, doesn't it? I'm sure some users are going to fall for this, too.
But a discerning eye will notice the email comes from outside the organization. Why would someone from an Australian university (.au) be sending this to the University of Iowa?
Who's John Doe, or Localhost for that matter? I know who most of the admins are, and this name doesn't ring a bell. The admins also have signature blocks identifying their office locations and phone numbers.
Also, admins typically ask for users to manually delete items. Why a script? Who/what is "eformit?" What is it supposed to do? It's also not a secure site.
The short lesson: don't take security messages for granted. Pay attention to who's sending it, where they're sending it from, and the type of file attached or linked. Be a pessimist, and when in doubt, contact your administrator! Better to take an extra moment's precaution then to potentially muck up your folders--or even your network--for hours.
-